RSCM Celebration Day with RSCM Canterbury Area Festival

2016 Celebration Day


Cel Day 1RSCM Celebration Day 2016

Saturday 1st October 2016
York Minster
Directed by Andrew Reid, Director of the RSCM and
Robert Sharpe, Director of Music, York Minster

RSCM Celebration Day 2016 was held at York Minster on Saturday 1st October.  This annual service celebrates the work of the RSCM, and is also the occasion on which we recognise those who have contributed to our work and to church music by making presentations of honorary awards.

This year, the event combined with the RSCM North & East Yorkshire Area Festival which provided the basis for a massed choir to lead the music, along with the York Minster Choir. The Bishop of Whitby, Rt Revd Paul Ferguson, gave the address.

Awards were made as follows:

Fellow of the RSCM
Andrew Carwood
Dr John Henderson
Graeme Morton
Dr Ralph Morton (award was received by Ralph’s widow, Cheryl)
Monsignor Robert Tyrala
Matt Redman (unable to attend)
Mark Venning

Associate of the RSCM
Ian Curror
Raymond Fu
Carl Jackson
Daniel Moult
Frances Novillo (unable to attend)
Simon Pearce
John Rowlands-Pritchard
Ben Saunders
Alan Tavener (awarded in 2015 but unable to attend service)
Don Whelan

Honorary Member of the RSCM
Dr Hugh Benham
Andrew Moodie
Jonathan Rennert
Dr Robert Tait (received award in New Zealand)

Certificate of Special Service
Br Vincent Bache (unable to attend)
Cynthia Hall
Helen Price (unable to attend)
Peter Price
Alan Reed (unable to attend)
Brian Reid
Heather Robinson
Penny Ryan
Kathleen Waddell

Licentiate of the RSCM
Joanne Austin
Fiona Bain
Tonya Chirgwin

Advanced Diploma of the RSCM
Thomas Heakin


Cel Day 2Cel Day 3



2017 Celebration Day

RSCM Celebration Day 2017

Saturday 14th October 2017
Canterbury Cathedral


RSCM Celebration Day 2017 was held at Canterbury Cathedral on Saturday 14 October. As well as a massed choir of about 200 singers we were joined by the lay clerks and girl choristers of the cathedral, many of our honorary award recipients, members of Council and an array of other invited guests.

The honorary awards this year included the new award of Companions of the RSCM made to Dr Terry Bramall and Mrs Liz Bramall in recognition of their huge, ongoing commitment to the work of the charity.

Notable features of the service, which combined with the RSCM Canterbury Area Festival, included the cathedral choristers’ rendition of Francis Jackson’s Magnificat in G in the month of his hundredth birthday, and a magnificent organ voluntary played by Andrew Reid on his last day in post as Director of the RSCM.

Awards were made as follows:

Companions of the RSCM

Dr Terence Bramall CBE

Mrs Elizabeth Bramall


Fellows of the RSCM

Garmon Ashby

Bob Chilcott (unable to attend)

Katherine Dienes-Williams

Cecilia McDowall

Patrick Russill

Jeremy Summerly


Associates of the RSCM

Richard Bendelow

Scott Farrell

Frederic Goodwin

Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (unable to attend)

Sam and Sara Hargreaves

Peter Litman

William Lupton

Anita Morrison

Blánaid Murphy

Edward Scott

Andrew Walker

David Wells

Andrew Wright


Honorary Member of the RSCM

Sunday Olawuwo


Certificates of Special Service

Philip Crookall

Julian Elloway (Unable to attend)

Michael Freeland (unable to attend)

Emma Gibbins (unable to attend)

Rhonda Gibbison (unable to attend)

Janet Low (Unable to attend)

David Rothwell

John Smalley (unable to attend)

Ralph Waters (unable to attend)

Tim Williams (unable to attend)


Watch out for details of next year’s Celebration Day which will be posted here once finalised.